A nucleus for many (things)

BUDDY the Musical Hamburg

BUDDY das Musical Hamburg was in many ways formative for many: Hauke's first engagement in a professional production and the place where Jacqui and Hauke met. It started with many challenges, BUDDY finally prevailed and is one of the very few productions that was cancelled, although it regularly played to full houses and only to make room for Disney's The Lion King after the takeover by Stage Holding at the time.

Many intense friendships stem from the special time in the "yellow bag" - welded together also by the start-up difficulties of the show - and many colleagues from the time of Buddy the Musical in Hamburg (1994-2001) still enjoy working together.

In the scene on the right: Robin Brosch as Buddy Holly, Jürgen Attig as Joe Mauldin and Hauke Wendt as Jerry Allison.

Versatility in demand

While Jacqui Dunnley-Wendt came to BUDDY das Musical Hamburg twice for shorter engagements and was able to take on various roles on stage as "Swing" and cover for Buddy Holly's wife Maria Elena. Hauke Wendt shared the role of Jerry Allison, friend of Buddy Holly and drummer of the band The Crickets with Helge Teschner after his premiere in August 1995 and also took over various shows at the positions of drums and percussion - a total of over 1,000 times!

more photos

In the second scene photo (from left to right): Marko Formanek as Buddy Holly, Bernard Fichtner as Nikki Sullivan, Hauke Wendt (astride the oil drum) as Jerry Allison and Jens Schierenbeck as Joe Mauldin.

The theatre hall of BUDDY das Musical Hamburg after the last revision of the show with a side stage.

The "New Metropol Musical Theatre", at that time in Hamburg's free port opposite the Landungsbrücken.

more productions

Die Keimzelle für Viele(s)

BUDDY das Musical Hamburg

BUDDY das Musical Hamburg war in vielerlei Hinsicht prägend für Viele(s): Haukes erstes Engagement in einer professionellen Produktion und der Ort, an dem Jacqui und Hauke sich kennengelernt haben. Gestartet mit vielen Herausforderungen hat sich BUDDY letztlich durchgesetzt und ist eine der ganz wenigen Produktionen, die abgesetzt wurde, obwohl sie regelmäßig vor vollen Häusern spielte und nur, um nach der Übernahme durch seinerzeit die Stage Holding Platz zu machen für Disney’s König der Löwen.

Viele intensive Freundschaften stammen aus der besonderen Zeit im “gelben Sack” – zusammengeschweisst auch durch die Startschwierigkeiten der Show – und viele Kollegen aus der Zeit von Buddy das Musical in Hamburg (1994-2001) arbeiten noch immer gern zusammen.

Im Szenenbild rechts: Robin Brosch als Buddy Holly, Jürgen Attig als Joe Mauldin und Hauke Wendt als Jerry Allison.

Vielseitigkeit gefragt

Während Jacqui Dunnley-Wendt gleich zweimal für kürzere Engagements zu BUDDY das Musical Hamburg kam und dort als “Swing” und Cover für Buddy Hollys Ehefrau Maria Elena diverse Rollen auf der Bühne übernehmen konnte, teilte sich Hauke Wendt nach seiner Premiere im August 1995 in der Zeit von 1996 bis 2000 die Rolle des Jerry Allison, Freund von Buddy Holly und Drummer der Band The Crickets mit Helge Teschner und übernahm zudem diverse Shows an den Positionen Drums und Percussion – insgesamt über 1.000 Mal!

Weitere Fotos

Im zweiten Szenenfoto (v.l.n.r.): Marko Formanek als Buddy Holly, Bernard Fichtner als Nikki Sullivan, Hauke Wendt (rittlings auf dem Ölfass) als Jerry Allison und Jens Schierenbeck als Joe Mauldin.

Der Theatersaal von BUDDY das Musical Hamburg nach der letzten Überarbeitung der Show mit Seitenbühne.

Das “Neue Metropol Musicaltheater”, damals im Hamburger Freihafen gegenüber den Landungsbrücken.

Weitere Produktionen