Re-opening of an icon

Alsterschwimmhalle

In November 2023, the iconic "Schwimmoper" in Hamburg was reopened after several years of spectacular renovation (here is an impressive video about the conversion - length 5:39 minutes) with a show specially developed and produced for the occasion: 50 years after the first opening in 1973.

Commissioned by the operator of the Alster indoor swimming pool, Bäderland Hamburg GmbH, .MCE Shows conceived and realised this show together with Creative Director Juan C. Escandell. The central theme was intended to give the audience an entertaining first impression of the various areas and utilisation options, while at the same time doing justice to the architectural grandeur of the facility - Hamburg's largest public swimming pool after all.

For a cast of over 100 artists, including many up-and-coming athletes and students of Musicalschule Ahrensburg , Jacqui Dunnley-Wendt developed and staged a choreography to the music by Hauke Wendt written and produced especially for this performance.

The guest of honour at the reopening ceremony was the First Mayor of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, Dr Peter Tschentscher.

The photo of the exterior view 2023 of the Alster swimming pool was taken by © Kati Jurischka

more productions

Wiedereröffnung einer Ikone

Alsterschwimmhalle

Im November 2023 wurde die ikonische „Schwimmoper“ in Hamburg nach einem mehrjährigen, spektakulären Umbau (hier ein beeindruckendes Video zum Umbau – Länge 5:39 Minuten) mit einer eigens für diesen Anlass entwickelten und produzierten Show wiedereröffnet: 50 Jahre nach der ersten Eröffnung 1973.

Im Auftrag der Betreiberin der Alsterschwimmhalle, der Bäderland Hamburg GmbH, haben MCE Shows gemeinsam mit Creative Director Juan C. Escandell diese Show konzipiert und umgesetzt. Der rote Faden sollte dem Publikum auf unterhaltsame Weise einen ersten Eindruck von den verschiedenen Bereichen und Nutzungsmöglichkeiten zeigen und gleichzeitig der architektonischen Grandesse der Anlage – immerhin Hamburgs größtem öffentlichen Schwimmbad – gerecht werden.

Für eine Besetzung von über 100 Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, darunter viele Nachwuchssportler und Schülerinnen und Schüler der Musicalschule Ahrensburg entwickelte und erarbeitete Jacqui Dunnley-Wendt eine Choreografie zur eigens von Hauke Wendt für diese Show komponierten und produzierten Musik.

Ehrengast der feierlichen Wiedereröffnung war der Erste Bürgermeister der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg, Dr. Peter Tschentscher.

Das Foto von der Aussenansicht 2023 der Alsterschwimmhalle stammt von © Kati Jurischka

Weitere Produktionen